cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Any good reads?

28 REPLIES 28
katflo

Re: Any good reads?

I have just finished The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. I really enjoyed it! It transports you to another world which is nice at the moment:)
Dorabel

Good luck, Wee Burd.  Les Mis is a great read.

Michelle21

That is very ambitious Wee Burd! X
Wee Burd

I have started reading Les Miserables - a full translation of the original novel. It's over 1300 pages. Been reading it for 2 weeks now and have barely scratched the surface! Now thinking it was a bit ambitious to attempt this under the influence of the chemo brain 😂
Dorabel

I’ve no science background but Rovelli writes for ordinary people like me.  The books you’ve bought will be there, all ready and waiting for when you want to read them.  I think the tiredness that comes with chemo is as much mental as physical.

I was looking back at the beginning of this thread and I agree about the uplifting cancer stories that are not as helpful as they might seem at first.  I read Siân Williams account and it was very well written but I did not find it useful because, at that stage, just after diagnosis, nothing was useful.

Michelle21

Dorabel, Quantum gravity, sounds very intellectual! Not sure my brain could cope with that at the best of times let alone now!! Also I must confess I’ve never read Jane Austin. I love reading because it’s so absorbing but although I started this thread I am finding it difficult to ‘get into’ a book at the moment. I just keep buying them and looking at them. x
Dorabel

Hi Michelle