Dcis diagnosis-need more information!

Hi 

I’m very new to all this and looking for advice.

I was given the diagnosis on Wednesday at the breast screening centre by the breast care nurse and told as it’s widespread in the right breast and medium to high grade the only option is a mastectomy.  I’m in total shock and extremely tearful.  I don’t want a mastectomy for something that may or may not develop into invasive cancer.

I’m an ex nurse so the first thing I did was research to learn as much as possible.  I’m really struggling to find any studies or facts and statistics about the likelihood of it developing further and the possible rate it might grow as well as long term survival for DCIS surgery, invasive breast cancer and the normal population. Does anyone have any ideas where I might find some concrete evidence. 
Ive been told that I should get to see the consultant in 3-4 weeks because of delays with Covid which I think is a long time to be in limbo. 
Has anyone challenged the treatment plan and what was the response?  20 years ago when I nursed, a patient that challenged the medical view was seen as difficult. 

When the nurse told my husband and I the diagnosis we both asked if there were any other options and she flatly said no. My hubby asked if we could delay and monitor more frequently but she was very brusque. I know she’s dealing with this on a daily basis but this is my breast and a very important part of me.

Mastectomy to her seemed to be like having a suspicious mole or in growing toenail removed. I know from nursing that it’s major surgery and not without huge emotional impacts.

I can’t believe women just blindly accept that mastectomy is the only way to go with something that is not an invasive cancer.

Any advice or experiences would be very much appreciated.

Thanks

Hi