Anastrozole and Herceptin - cough/breathlessness

I’m just coming to the end of my second month of Anastrozole and I’m really struggling with an awful raspy cough, scratchy throat and breathlessness. I’ve also had 8 Herceptin injections with 10 more to go. 

I had a heart scan 4 weeks ago and it was normal so know it’s not that. I do suffer with asthma.

It does say that Herceptin can cause a cough in the list of side effects. It’s affecting my work a bit as I’m a teacher and having to project and raise my voice often makes me cough now, which isn’t great when trying to get 30 kids attention. Finding it very frustrating.

Im keeping a diary of how I feel but will probably just have to keep plodding on. 

Hi @louby_lou69  

I’m on Phesgo injections (Herceptin/Perjeta) and have had a troublesome cough for several weeks now, had my 8th injection 3 days ago. I was in hospital with a nasty pneumonia 3 weeks after my first injection and no one thought Phesgo was the cause ???  I have asthma too and have recommenced Symbicort plus take Salbutamol more frequently - helps a little but not enough! It really is bothersome when you have to speak and it feels like there is something stuck in/irritating your throat! Sucking on boiled sweets, Polo-mints or similar helps me a little but I guess you may not be allowed that in the classroom? 

I am not on anastrozole, tried Tamoxifen but I too severe reaction to it.

Take care, Kaisa

Hi @louby_lou69  

I hope that the cough is settling and you are enjoying the school holiday! I also developed a cough at the beginning of my treatment, thought to be a bronchial asthma and not related to chemo. I  have started on a preventer Breo Ellipta and it does seem to help.