Letrozole: 8 months on, 5 days off.

I have just lifted my arms and tied my hair up, without pain.  I’m more than a little amazed and have to document this somewhere. 

On Thursday, almost exactly 8 months after I first started taking Letrozole, I saw the oncologist and he has agreed to my having a 2 month break.  I have been complaining for 8 months about aches and pains, until even I couldn’t believe I wasn’t imagining it.  This time last week I couldn’t stand up and walk without first leaning forward for the first several meters while my back straightened itself up.  I couldn’t get out of my chair or my car without groaning.  I couldn’t roll over in bed without struggling, and going to the toilet in the middle of the night was agony and involved several manouvres including holding on to the bedposts until I got to the door.  (And then got back in to a bed that was damp from sweating.)  I had forgotten all the little things, like being unable to tie my hair up.

The decision weighs heavily, though.  I immediately came to this forum to read about everyone else’s experiences, trying to justify myself.  I was shocked to see that for many people (that I read about) the difference in prognosis was less than 1%.  I had checked my statistics on the new NHS Predict and thought that my 8% change was too small to justify the side effects.  75% 10 year survival rate with surgery alone vs 83% with Letrozole and bisphosphonates.  And the minute I stopped the tablets I started worrying about whether I’ve done the wrong thing.

(While typing this I had to start the evening meal, which will be spaghetti bolognaise.  I added the meat (800g) to the pot and stirred.  I couldn’t have done that a couple of days ago!)