Tamoxifen Sensitivity Assay/ Pharmacogenetics

Hi,

I’ve discovered that you can have a tamoxifen sensitivity test / assay, that looks at your genetics and whether certain drugs could benefit you, in this case tamoxifen. 

The Pink ribbon foundation partnered with Myogenes on the hereditary cancer test, so I also found they had a pharmacogenetic test which lists tamoxifen. Cost for this test is £450 plus vat & covers nearly 300 drugs. myogenes.com/our-tests/the-pharmacogenetics-test/

The BCN helpline gave me the contacts for paternity for life, who offer a test from genomics (Australia) in the U.K. You can request the test on line via the pharmacogenetics test but you pay one fee for tamoxifen specifically. paternityforlife.co.uk/services/clinical-tests/pharmacogenomics-drug-response/ So £249 for the 1 test, the test that is generic covers 40 drugs but tamoxifen isn’t included in their 40.

I have been putting off taking tamoxifen for a few months & have now ordered the test. Myogenes said it’s rarely ordered on NHS but some private insurers will pay apparently.

Hope it’s of interest to the wider community.

That’s very interesting thank you for sharing .

Hi greenfairy

I will be intrigued to know your outcome. 

I could well be following you down this path. 

Keep us posted