reccurance - and tamoxifen

Hi

I November last year I found a lump in my right breast, it was 22cm, grade 3 but not in lymph.

I had a mastectomy 1 week before my 50 birthday, and my oncotype score was 14, so no chemo, on tamoxifen.

Has anybody had a recurrence if the original cancer has not spread to lymph nodes.

Also reading bits on tamoxifen, chances are slim it will not come back in 5 years, but more of chance 15 years down the line.

symptoms are not great struggling to take and sometimes do not see benefit…

Sorry if this sounds negative, I am a nurse practitioner so I would tell my patients to take it.

but am struggling my self 

thanks mandy

Hi. Sorry to hear you are struggling a bit. I didn’t know whether to answer your question or not about recurrence as I wouldn’t want to worry you. I was diagnosed with primary breast cancer age 26. The tumour was over 4cm and grade 3. All my lymph nodes were clear. I had a mastectomy, chemo, radiotherapy and then hormone therapy for 2 years. Then last year I was diagnosed with secondary BC with spread to my lungs and bones, age 42. That was after around a year of extreme pain. So my BC came back around 14 years after my original diagnosis even with no nodes involved. Hope that answers your question but doesn’t make you feel overly anxious xx