Hi everyone 

Diagnosed with Stage 3 breast cancer early Jan. 2022

Mastectomy ( no choice ) in Dec. 2021 ( 4 days before Xmas ).

Chemo from Feb. to May

Radiation in July.

Struggling with so many side effects from chemo, radiation and hormone therapy (Zoladex every month and just last week switched from tamoxifen to Aromasin after 2 months).

Side effect- peripheral neuropathy, fatigue, chemo brain, anxiety about recurrence, joint pains, insomnia, (medically induced) menopause symptoms, radiation burns that are  now healing, …

Really worried about returning to work as I am a teacher and I have been away from school since Dec. If I don’t resume work in Sep. my salary will be cut in half. I honestly feel like I need a whole year to recover from the whirlwind that I have experienced in the last 8 months. Any advice or tips on how to return to society, to students (secondary school), a very demanding and stressful job…?

Welcome to the forum , sorry you are suffering so many challenges after treatment :frowning_face: Your employers have a duty to adjust your hours / workload to ensure you are able to manage when you return to work . Cancer counts as a disability  so you are protected under disability legislation . Have you have a meeting with OH scheduled , if not request one urgently and draw up a manageable return to work plan .You need to test the water very gradually and see how you feel.

You could claim PIP alongside your sick pay to you help make up the short fall if your pay is cut and you don’t feel able to return in September . Mamillian have advisors who help with money and employment matters on the phone if you look on their website .Best wishes Jill x

Hi Solimar

I feel your pain - so tomspeak