50 years old, Bury area, newly diagnosed

Hi everyone
Invasive Ductal Carcinoma 3.3cm’s found on mammogram - can’t feel it. Thank god for screening.
Felt very positive until I received a letter saying I had to have a liver ultrasound due to mildly elevated levels in blood test. Elevated levels of what I wonder? Anyway, I think you are all brave and wonderful and good luck to every one of you.

Hi Sid

Sorry you’ve had to join us here on these boards, but as someone else who has only been diagnosed fairly recently I have to say I think you’ve come to the right place!

The support and comfort here, and even laughs too, have really helped me - the helpline too has been invaluable.

I’m no expert on all this but I know some of the best advice I received was not to google and terrify myself silly with what is often inaccurate and out-of-date information.

I suppose you have to wait for the results of your ultrasound before you get a treatment plan? I’m still waiting for my plan too. Lots of people here and my BCN have said that the testing and waiting part is the worst and once treatment starts things get a bit easier mentally.

Anyway, hello from me and I’m sure some of the others will be along soon to ‘welcome’ you.

D x

Hiya - Invasive lobular carcinoma here - dx end of May 2011. Sentinal node biopsy and core biopsy June 2011. Started chemo end of June - finished end of November. Mastectomy and axillary clearance December 20th. Now going through Radiotherapy - 6/15 done.

What ever the future holds for you - you will get through this. It will pass. We are here together to support each other, one step at a time, one day at a time.

So sorry you have found yourself here - but please feel welcome

Debbie

p.s. screening didn’t find me - my mammogram was clear. Self examination saved me.

Hi
Thanks you two.