Advise please re TAC chemo

Could anyone offer any advice please? My mum had Idc 3cm grade 2 with 3/23 positive nodes and ER+. Advised by onc to have 6 x TAC chemo as a best option or 6 x FEC as an alternative. Mum has sort of agreed to try TAC and revert to FEC if she can’t handle the stronger chemo. Due to start soon but she’s very very frightened of it all and is also thinks she should opt for FEC from the outset. She’s 67 with high blood pressure but no other major health issues but she just doesn’t think her body can handle TAC. Are there any older ladies out there who could offer advice please? Could anyone tell me their experience of TAC - I’ve read all the possible SE but wondered how difficult people have found it. Thank you very very much to anyone who can help.

Hi there

I’ve no experience of TAC but have had 4 x FEC and then 4 x taxotere. I am considerably younger than your mum (was 45 when I had chemo)but physically quite weak too as I’d recently become very ill with endometriosis and undergone a hysterectomy and bowel resection. What got me through was thinking that it was time limited and potentially life saving.

Your mother is understandably afraid and needs to be very clear in her mind the advantages of going for one type of treatment over another. The thing is that no-one can predict exactly what side effects your mother will actually have and how severe they will be. Some women are almost bedridden with chemo and others manage to go to work all the way through.

The other thing to remember is that she will have blood checks done before each chemo which will check things like kidney and liver function, red and white cell count. I’m sure you could also ask how the chemo might affect her blood pressure and whether that could be monitored.
If any treatment was making her too unwell they may reduce the dose or change her treatment.

If you have more questions then you can ask to speak to the Oncologist again by ringing his/her secretary.