Another newbie

posted on behalf of new user rachel
Hi All
Just thought I’d introduce myself as I’m new to all this, diagnosed only last week (20.2.13). At the moment it’s all very daunting and worrying but I’ve been reading all my info from the hospital like a good girl!
Currently I’m waiting for an MRI scan so they can formulate a plan. All I know is that it will definitely involve some sort of surgery, hopefully lumpectomy, and probably a course of chemo. I just wish I could get on with it now, don’t want to be waiting around!
Looking forward, if that’s the right phrase, to getting to know some of you who are going through the same sort of thing as me.
Rachel

Hello rachel

Welcome to the forums. I’m sorry to hear of your diagnosis, the first few weeks are always difficult when coming to terms with your diagnosis and treatment.
As well as the support you will receive on the forums you might find it helpful to order the BCC resources pack. It has been specifically designed for those newly diagnosed and contains information to help you understand your diagnosis, test results and the various treatments available. If you would like to order a copy just follow the link bellow:-

www2.breastcancercare.org.uk/publications/diagnosed-breast-cancer/resource-pack-primary-early-breast-cancer-bcc145

You may also like to talk things through with one of the helpline staff, they are there to offer emotional support as well as provide information. The free phone number is 0808 800 6000 and lines are open 9-5 Monday to Friday and 10-2 Saturday.

Best wishes

June, moderator

Hi Rachel

Sorry you have had to joion our elite little club, but welcome aboard! You will find loads of support and friendship here.

The initial waiting for results and a treatment plan is definitely the worst part. Once you know what you’ve got to do, you can get on with it and start to tick things off.