Anyone else doing chemo to reduce lump size?

Hi, I’m new to all of this and have read lots, but struggling with the “it may be different for you” thing. Expecting to have total of 4 EC, then 4 taxotere to reduce lump size then mastectomy and radiotherapy. So far I’ve had 2 lots of EC, been in hospital with a infection after first chemo. Now on neulasta feling a bit better to-day, but lots of muscle aches and feeling tired. Not really sure how I’m going to get through chemo, then surgery, then radio!! It would be good to hear from anyone in similar position.

Hi to the Storm Raiders, love the analogy.

Clare

Hi Clare

Thought your post looked a bit lonely! I had chemo first to reduce the lump size - FEC and Taxotare. In my case it worked. After the last chemo (at the end of December after 6 months) the lump no longer showed on scans. I had surgery three weeks ago - a lumpectomey - and there was hardly any cancer left to remove. I’m now waiting to start radiotherapy in a few weeks.

Although the chemo is horrible its worth it if it shrinks the lump. And if you can get through chemotherapy you can cope with anything.

I’ve had two lots of neulasta etc as my blood counts were too low for surgery - they can make you feel achy and horrible too.

My way of coping was to give myself a treat before each lot of chemo when I knew I was feeling reasonably well - a day out, a nice meal or a special treat. I was also told to focus on something nice in the future - in my case my holiday this year.

You will get through it, this site is really helpful and makes you realise that you are not alone.

Good luck and I hope everything goes well.

Lynn