Anyone with meningeal mets?

My onc told me today that, after over 9 years with pretty asymptomatic liver & bone mets, (a) I have bone met progression in my skull - noticeable “lumps” on forehead; and (b) MRI scan has picked up some meningeal mets near these. Onc’s changing my hormonal from exemestane (been on it for 7 years) to Faslodex, with a “wait & see how that does” plan of action.

Anyone have experience of meningeal mets? Many thanks for any info/advice/reassurance.

Love to all - Marilyn (ex-Xeloda Queen) xx

Marilyn I am afraid I have no experience, info, or advice to offer but I am so very sorry to hear that you have this progression. I don’t know about you but as I go on year after year with ‘just’ bone mets I have moments when I have thought it will stay that way specially as I have just another 2 yrs and I will hit the big 70! But I do wonder if I will get there as I start to notice little things ‘progressing’ and the ever relentless pain marching on. I had a lot of bone mets in my skull when first dx with 2ndaries in 2002 but they were the first ones to ‘disappear’ on the first scan after treatment with bisphos. but they did pick up on recent CT scan that some of the bone mets were now xxxxxxx (can’t remember the word - but means building up bone rather than leaving holes!) They think it can possibly be signs of healing rather than progression so are playing wait and see. Have you any other symptoms apart from the lumps? Fingers crossed for you that the change to Faslodex will sort the blighters out.

Dawn
xx

Sorry Marilyn, I can’t help you either but I hope the change in treatment works really well. Although I have been living with bone mets much less time than you or Dawn I do identify with the ‘just’ bone mets and wonder what is to come, despite my onc being incredibly optimistic. However I still don’t think he has xray eyes or indeed a crystal ball so I soldier on. Good luck with the treatment.
nicky x

Hi Dawn & Nicky