1.2M posts
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Been Diagnosed and Scared !!!

11 REPLIES 11

Re: Been Diagnosed and Scared !!!

iam not an expert, but i would have thought if they told you straight after the scan and before they had any boipsy results then they want more scan information on your breast rather than the rest of your body.

In the old days if a cancer area was too near the nipple or too near the chest wall they just whipped your breast off, but nowadays they care more and if possible do smaller surgical proceedures that leave a better cosmetic reslut and are less traumatic.

Just to reitterate though-- I am not an expert, just an avid reader of all things BC

Hi maz1950

I had a CT scan of liver and lungs and a bone scan as routine following my mx (both clear despite spread to lymph nodes).
The bone scan is done in the nuclear medicine department so that is probably why you have been given an appointment there.
The lungs, liver and bones are where breast cancer tends to spread to so the docs like to check these areas because it would make a difference to what treatment is best for you.

Take one day at a time. Best wishes,
Kate x

Guest user
Not applicable

straight after my scan i have been told that i am g6ing over to the nuclear department i dont know what for but i dont know size of tumour but it could not be felt by physical examination thanks

Hi Maz,

Oh so sorry that you've had to join our friendly gang on here - honestly, post any time you want cos there's a lovely bunch of people on here, and it's amazing how there's always someone who can offer virtual hugs, caring words - and that's 24hrs a day.