Been recalled and really scared

Hi I am new to this but have just had a letter recalling me for more assessments after a mammo gram. I have a history of breast cancer in the family and am so scared. Please if there is anyone out there who can offer a few words of reassurance I would really appreciate it and any advice from people wHo have been through this. Thank you so much x

Hi Jo, I know it’s a really scary time but please try not to panic too much, the majority of recalls are absolutely fine honestly, I’ve been with my sister and a close friend when the were recalled and both were given the all clear after further tests. Having a family history of BC will be extra frightening, my mum died of it 15 years ago and I thought the worst when I was diagnosed but in reality mine wasn’t connected to hers and just one of those things, it was very treatable and I’m 18 months on and life is back to normal, no guarantees I know but very hopeful it’s all done and dusted! It’s really not unusual to be recalled and you have a good chance of all being well Xx Jo 

Hi Jo.

Most of us here have had that ‘dreaded’ recall letter. If you are in the U.K. You can be very reassured that from recall letter to assessment - timescales are really right. Most ladies recalled do so because they have not had mammos before and therefore the radiographer has nothing to compare your X-rays against. Being recalled in the main could mean another Mammo. In my case it was mammos, ultrasound and biopsies in the same place on my recall appt. The breast screening nurses were amazing and explained everything. In that explanation they tell you that lots of us get recalled and in most cases there are no issues. Follow up procedures to results is about a week to ten days. I was so impressed with their professionalism, speed and empathy - you can be reassured that they will be thorough. Be sure to take someone with you - as a second set of ears.