Not applicable

Re: Bigger tumour than initially thought

I have sent you a PM, Vanessa.

Ann x

Guest user
Not applicable

Hi Ann

Yes, I absolutely agree - we cannot help the way we are. Some of us cope better by not knowing - others, like ourselves, are different in that we cannot cope with the "not knowing". I too wish I could walk around in blissful ignorance - but alas it is not so.

I am a registered nurse of 28 years, and more recently a registered midwife, so I have a good idea about medical matters. I am able to read and appraise clinical papers and when I was first diagnosed, I spent day and night on the internet. I also had access to the university medical library. There were many times when I thought " Gosh, I wish I hadn't read that" but afterwards I was able to relax a bit more and deal with the information I'd gleaned.

As I said, it's the not knowing that would drive me to the point of - well almost hysteria. The more information I had, the more I understood about the decision making for treatment and all the options available. I was able to discuss with the surgeon everything about my disease including the pathology reports, of which he gave me copies. This gave me a sense of control over my disease. My Surgeon in Sheffield is fantastic, he has included me in all decision making and spent a great deal of time discussing stats, options and drawing diagrams etc, etc. I am eternally grateful for his kindness, understanding and patience.