Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Chemo - or not?

16 REPLIES 16
lisa79

Re: Chemo - or not?

Hi Liz,

If it helps, I bailed out of FEC-T after only one FEC. Will it make a difference on my long term survival or risk of recurrence or new primary? I don't know, but will let you know if (God please forbid) it happens...

To put my decision into context, I had IDC with a bit of DCIS; tumour was 1.5cm (i.e. "T1") when they did my WLE. I had a micromet in one of four nodes sampled at SNB (which they did with my WLE so only one op). The pathology report also showed LVI; my margins were apparently clear at 3mm (the deep) and 1mm (the anterior) - I didn't think what was enough to say they were clear, but I'm no expert! I was grade 3, and 33 years old at dx last August. I "N1" owing to the micromet which was 0.6mm. No distant mets found prior to my WLE and (so far!) no sign of anything new. I am ER+ 8/8 and had radiotherapy in spring, now on tamoxifen.

When I first met him, my onc told me that chemo was needed as my cancer was "on the move", i.e. because of the micromet rather than LVI as far as I understand it. He said my 10-yr survival stats were 5-10% higher with chemo than without.
However, I only did one cycle of chemo before I told him mentally/emotionally I couldn't cope with more. He then said "we'll, you did one" and he and my BCN said surgery was curative and rads and tamoxifen were more important than chemo in regards a recurrence and keeping any stray cells under control. They really don't seem fussed I didn't finish, and another BCN has since told me quite a few ladies decline or don't finish chemo I even when grade 3.