Core biopsy results tomorrow

Hi all - newbie here looking for support.

At the start of December my partner found a lump in my breast. I can’t fault my GP who having advised me to return to her in a fortnight if it hadn’t gone referred mt to the breast clinic immediately. I had the ultrasound and mammogram just before Christmas and on the day was told that it was normal beat tissue and that as I’m in my early forties, my breasts are starting to change (heading southwards :-(). They gave me a FNA as a matter of course and to confirm that all is well , but this has come back with atypical cells - rated a ‘4’ - which I know is better than a ‘5’ but nevertheless has scared me.

I had my core biopsy on New Years eve (and addittional mammogram) and get my results tomorrow and to be quite frank I’m really scared about what they are going to say. My partner is a scientist and does cancer research so he is a wreck - he’s trying to be supportive but I feel like I am wasting energy worrying about him when I should be concentrating on myself - I know that sounds selfish, but I’m really scared and don’t want the extra stress of worrying about him as well as me. I seem to veer between panic and calm and i’m trying to keep up the facade of normality at work when in reality I look around at all the other women going about their daily routine without a care in the world and yet here I am, my life could change for ever tomorrow.

has anyone got a similar story that make me feel a bit better about tomorrow?

Hi Diefenbaker,

Welcome to the Breast Cancer Care discussion forums, you’ve come to the right place for some good, honest support from the many informed users of this site.

While you are waiting for replies could I suggest that you give our helpline team a call and have a chat with them about your concerns.  Calls to the helpline are free, 0808 800 6000 lines open Mon-Fri 9-5 and Sat 10-2

Take care,

Jo, Moderator

Hi Diefenbaker,