Core biopsy today.

I’m 51 had my first mammogram a couple of weeks before Christmas and then received the letter calling me in for secondary screening. Had a second mammogram followed by an ultrasound and a core biopsy of an area described as unusual. I have no palpable lump.
i now have a wait of a week for my results. At the moment only my husband and best friend know of this and both seem to hold the view that it’ll all be fine, but I’m scared and want to share with other women who have been through this. I have never used a forum before!

Bumping to hopefully get more helpful replies…
We’re a helpful lot on here so hopefully wont be long…
All the best for a good result xxx

Hi Cazzy. I too am 51, no breast lump but following a routine mammogram, 2stereotactic core biopsies i was diagnosed with multi site DCIS which is an early stage of breast cancer, non invasive. The waiting for results is tough, but most routine call backs do turn out to be false alarms and need no further treatment. Try to stay positive, I know that is easier said than done, and avoid googling! There are a lot of scary websites out there that are either old or contain inaccurate information. There are lots of lovely ladies on this forum who will help you through the waiting and give you lots of advice. I am due to have a mastectomy and LD flap reconstruction on Friday, unfortunately at the moment my blood pressure has gone sky high …I wonder why? So I am on some quick working beta blockers and signed off sick! Let me knowhow you get on and my fingers will be crossed praying for good resulTs for you… Big cyber hug winging it’s way to you. Xxxxxxxxxx

Hi Cazzy,
I ummed and ahed about whether to post… don’t want you thinking the worst, when it may be a false alarm! But then I remember how I felt… and for me… I wanted to know. Some ladies don’t and that’s fine… but waiting is definitely the WORST part and as Cheryl says… please don’t google, honestly just stick to this site and/or MacMillan.