Deep Inspiration Breath Hold Radiotherapy

Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie to the site and have found all the advice very helpful.

I was approached by my Onc to go for the breath hold radiotherapy treatment, which I think is fairly new.

I went to be measured last week and got my tattoos etc - had to take a lot of deep breaths and hold for around 15 seconds. I had to wear a visor that showed you if you were taking enough air into your lungs.

The science is great - and has been developed to minimise risk to heart tisssue etc and is for left sided BC.

I found it a bit daunting and wondered if anyone else has been through the treatment yet ?

Ive got 3 weeks 15 sessions starting in a couple of weeks - and cannot find out how many repititions of breaths I will have to hold in 1 session so wondered if anyone else could advise ?

Hi Jobi
Welcome to the BCC forums where I am sure you will find lots of support, please also feel free to call our helpline to talk through any concerns or queries. Lines are open weekdays 9-5 and Sat 10-2 on 0808 800 6000

Best wishes
Lucy BCC

Hi jobi - I also have left sided BC and am starting radiotherapy next week but I wasn’t offered this option. It sounds a fantastic idea, anything that will help to protect normal tissue is great. Hope all goes well for you xx

There was a thread on this when I was starting my radiotherapy. I’ll bump it up for you.

Jane x

Hello Jobi,

I saw my Oncologist for the first time on Wednesday and she has put me forward for Breath Hold Radiotherapy. I am really happy about this after ‘googling’ the benefits of this technique in protecting your heart and lungs.

I am being treated for left breast cancer and Breath Hold Radiotherapy is particularly beneficial in these cases.

My local hospital started using this new Breath Hold technique last year. I feel very lucky to be in the catchment area.