Dexamethasone

Hi all
I’m new to this forum but on reading a few threads it seems like I will fit in well. My background is 2012 initial breast cancer diagnosis and then in September 2016 I found a swollen neck lymph node. A biopsy was done which confirmed metastatic breast cancer. Subsequently CT scans showed mets in my bones and liver. I’m now on chemo and densumab.The story goes on and in the last 3 weeks I have had headaches which have improved greatly with Dexamethasone but now my sleep pattern is getting even worse. My mind is just buzzing and racing, I get off to sleep ok but then wake up about 3hrs later and cannot relax enough to get back to sleep. Any useful ideas would be gratefully received. Xx

Hello snoopy
I’m not sure what dexamethasone is ( note to self …Google!) But welcome to our support and kindness .
Lack of sleep is a real downer as it adds to more grumpyness and anger ! I don’t sleep well either and try not to get out of bed or reach for the internet either …
A few days ago …switched on tv …shopping channels are a waste of space as well at 3am …who wants to buy a gut buster exercise machine at that time !! A lot of ladies do meditation things or headspace I think which might help. Try doing a A to Z of sonething in your head …like boys names or characters in eastenders. .you will bore yourself to sleep hopefully !!! Ha ha.
Carolyn xxx

Hi Carolyn and thanks for your ideas.
I agree sometimes it is difficult to know how long to persist lying in bed and when to give up and get up. My kind Mum in law has sent me some colouring books to relax me so maybe that will propel my usual non existent artistic side! I’ve looked at some mindfulness breathing exercises today ?… they will need work but I will try.
Dexamethasone is just oral steroids, known side effect I have checked is insomnia.
Thanks again
Snoopy fan xx

Hi Snoopy Fan,