Diagnosis and panic

Hi, I am new to all of this and not sure how it works. Unfortunately I was diagnosed on Friday with breast cancer, I don’t know stage and type yet which is worrying me. I am booked for mastectomy a week on tues. I have a 4 month old baby and a 4 year old son. I am in a state of total panic, shock , don’t know how to cope or deal with anything at the minute. The op and treatment ae not really worrying me it’s just the fear of not being able to care for my boys that is so hard. I feel so cheated out of life being just 34. If anyone has similar experiences can you please get in touch x

Hello and welcome to the BCC Discussion Forums.

While you’re waiting for replies from other forum users I thought it might be helpful to post a link to the younger women and breast cancer area of the main Breast Cancer Care website. It contains a range of information and also details of services aimed at younger women which I hope will be useful. Information booklets can all be downloaded or you can request a copy to be sent out in the post:

breastcancercare.org.uk/younger-women

Please do also give our Helpline a call if it would help to talk to someone in confidence, Tel. 0808 800 6000 Mon-Fri 9am-5pm and Sat 9am-2pm.

With best wishes,
Anna, BCC Facilitator

Hi Major1

Im so sorry you have had to join us. It is a very scary and worrying time at the beginning of this journey. It can be very overwhelming. You will find lots of support and info on this site, the ladies on here have helped me so much and still do, it really helps to know you are not alone with the different emotions and struggles we have!

Keep posting, no question silly question, dont google as some outdated scarey stuff out there.

Once you know your treatment plan you will be able to feel a little more in control of things, i was told this and its true.

Big hugs to you
Clare x

Hiya major1!