Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Diep I think /any ladies same experience/is it worth it/

13 REPLIES 13
Guest user
Not applicable

Re: Diep I think /any ladies same experience/is it worth it/

I had my diep last year in march 2012, it took me ages to get on a list to get it done, I was 44 when diagnosed (2009) did all the treatment and was so desperate to get my life back on track, however the surgery and recovery were honestly hellish, I completely underestimted the amount of recovery time, and the ability to stand up straight.  I'm a Pilates teacher by profession so worked really hard to get strong before the surgery, build up my resiliance, strengthen the abs before they were cut and give the veins a push which my surgeon said would maybe make it bigger ???,   I had minor complication with fat necrosis on the abdominal wound, which meant going back in after a week, and getting it fixed, and I lost my naval as it wouldn't heal, I'm not sure if this made my recovery longer or not but I really needed a full 3 months off work.  Sadly my vien wasn't great in the end and my surgeon took a slice of rectus abdominus to keep it safe and put a hernia mesh in, in advance, as she new what I did for a living.  I still dont have any sensation in the front of my abdomen from below the ribs to the pubic bone, my muscles pull every time I do a sit up, ( but still do them),   I had my naval fixed at a later date which is okay, and my nipple recon just finished ( first failed).