Do i have cancer? I am worried about my appointment

Hi all, i am new to this, only 22 and I would just love some assurance and advice. I recently found a lump inside my boob, you cant see it but i can feel it. It doesnt hurt, is hard, about marble size and is in the lower part of my breast. I went to my doctor and see said she didnt think it was anything to worry about (which is good news) as the lump is mobile, isnt sticking to my skin and there isnt anyting under my arm. The problem is I am a complete worry wort and despite being told this, I am still soooo nervous. I cant eat or sleep properly over it all. The doctor made me a referral to put my mind at ease by getting it formally checked but the wait is killing me and i cant help thinking what if they find something more serious. My doctor said that if she thought it was cancer i would get seen within 2 weeks, so I have to wait 6 weeks to get seen to and I dont know how i will cope. I just want to find out the answer right now. please help.x

Hi there, it is so unfair that you have to wait 6 weeks but I’m suprised and glad you have been referred. I know age shouldn’t matter but I’m afraid they follow guidelines, the odds are well in you favour probably less than 100 a year under 25 are diagnosed! I truly wish you didn’t have to wait so long its painful but always have optimism sooo many ppl I know have had cysts and abcesses and other things the breasts are complicated things. Try keep yourself busy hope time passes very quicly for you! xx

HI Lulu - if it’s any help at all, usually if the lump is mobile and can be moved then it’s not likely to be cancer.
And in most cases out there it’s highly unusual for someone your age to have breast cancer. Of course its not unheard of either but unlikely.

You must feel very stressed, anyone who finds a lump is scared about it, it’s natural.

xx