Epirubicin twice anybody?????

Just got back from appointment with onc, it was scan results, the news isnt good infact its totally b*>{ocks, the mets in my liver are now at their worst so far, after alot of humming and haring onc has decided on epirubicin and some other one, the thing is I had epi in 2004 - I believe that they dont usually give epi twice because of the risk to the heart, so I was just wondering if anyone out there has had it??

Ive just about exhaused all the chemos over the last 4 years and think that this is maybe the last option just finished taxol 10 weeks ago and really enjoyed the chemo break so this is back to earth with a big bump.

Thanks ladies

Sue xx

Awwwwww Sue

I have no experience of this as I only had CMF with original BC but couldnt read and run.

I wanted to send you a great big ((((((CYBER-HUG)))))) as this is sooooooooo sh*t and I havent seen you about for ages.

Lots of love

Anne xx

Hi Anne

Nice to see you!! No I havent been around for a while had a bit of a chemo break and put all things bc to the back of my mind, and didnt visit for a while.

Im booked in for the cool caps again love them!! just need one for the eyelashes and brows!! they’re only just growing back now, sods law isnt it.

Thanks Anne take care

Sue xxx

Hi Sue,

I have known quite a few women who have had epirubicin for a second time, usually on a weekly basis. I also thought that epi was a ‘one off’ chemo - but must be wrong. Good luck with it…

Jenny
x

HI Sue

Sorry your scan news is so f. boll****

I think that thinking has changed on using epi and other anthracyclines twice. I think second time round it may be used in ‘pegylated’ form (don’t know what that means though). How long did epi work for you first time round? That could be key for deciding whether to do it again.