Fasting before Chemo Sessions

Hi Everyone,

Sorry if this has been asked before but has anyone tried fasting the day before treatment and did if make any difference to the side effects? Just wondering if its worth a try as just emerging from my first on the 2nd December following a particularly bad reaction. C xx

Apparently a lot of the 5 :2 diet was done around chemo and cancer research if you read the origins of the book . It is supposed to make you feel less **bleep** and I was thinking of trying this my self . But fasting isn’t not eating at all its limiting you in take and eating healthy foods and fluids xx

A friend sent me s link about fasting in chemo, I’ll try to find it when at my PC tomorrow x

Two day diet by. Dr. Mi helle Harvey and Professor Howell at christie in manchester . They did the original research and all based on scientific trials . You can order the book in line xx

Thanks eveyone. Going to check it out xx

Hi, I’m new to these threads so apologies if my answer isn’t really relevant. I had my first FEC cycle on 26th Nov and although I didn’t fast as such, I made an effort to drink at least 3 litres of fresh water on the day before, the actual day and the following day of treatment. I really feel it helped me feel less nauseous although I still felt very strange! I also ate small amounts regularly and used ginger in various guises regularly. I know everyone’s responses are different but I think it helped for me so will try again for my next cycle on 17th Dec. I’m eager to pick up any tips from this thread! Rachel x