First Treatment

I’m new to this and a bit anxious. I had my first chemo treatment today of Taxol and Herceptin…12 weekly then Herceptin will continue every 3 weeks for a total of a year. I have been told a couple different things and know everyone is different but I just wish I knew if I am going to lose my hair or not. My doctor said I should plan on losing it but the nurses have said probably not because the weekly treatment are lower dose aren’t as harsh. I am waiting for the nausea to hit. Right now I am just a little tired and my stomach hurts so I did take the anti nausea meds to be safe. Just wish someone could tell me exactly what I can expect with my hair so I am prepared.

Hello Ram3

Can’t answer your query, sorry, but just wanted to wish you well. I am on the same treatment as you now but I had ECx3 before. Two weeks after starting this I lost most of my hair but still have eyebrows and eyelashes. I am expecting to lose the rest with the weekly Paclitaxol, based on what I have read. Having no hair is hard but not as difficult, for me, as I imagined. I wear nothing at home and hats/scarves when I go out. I have a good wig but just don’t like how hot and tickly it is. 

All the the best with your treatment.

Hi Ram3,

I was on a different regime - FEC and T. 3 weekly. The T part being one of the Taxol family.

My experience was that I lost most of my hair on FEC but it began to grow back on T.

I think that your medical staff are being negligent in not informing you of the risks of any medical treatment that you have.  How can we give an informed consent to a treatment if we don’t know what the risks are? Especially when you are getting mixed messages. 

They should be able to tell you what % of patients get hair loss on the weekly version. There should be published research on this.  If they don’t know they should find out and come back to you.