Following Surgery

Hi to everyone
I am new to all of this so please bear with me!
I was diagnosed on 06/08/12 following a mammogram (my PCT has fortunately extended their screening to include women over 47) at the age of 48.
The lump was small and no Lymph node in the Ultrasound and in right breast only therfore I had a WLE and SNB on 29/08/12 as a day patient. This will be followed, if nothing changes following the testing of the removed tissue, by Radiotherapy and endocrine therapy as the biopsy showed ER+
Everything was fine on the day, seen the BCN 31/08/12 due to swelling which she agree was a fluid build up but said it could be left as it wasn’t a problem at the wound site. I returned 05/09/12 to have dressings removed and had some fluid removed, but not all. Since then my breast has been aching at the site of the lump, not at the wound and I think the only way it stops aching is to hold it which isn’t ideal. Managing the excercises without pain just an ache.
Off to see the surgeon on Tuesday 11/9/12 to discuss the results of the tests on the tissue removed so will probably leave it until then and ask him if its worth draining some more fluid.
Been great to read some very inspiring stories on the forum which will hopefully help me on my journey, which I have established has actually only just begun.
Any thoughts would be appreciated

Dear salonen

Welcome to the forum. I am pleased to hear that you have found it helpful to read other members stories and I hope you will continue to find support on here.

Very best wishes

Janet

BCC Moderator

Thanks for your info salonen13, I’m having my lumpectomy and snb on the 17th so it’s interesting to read your post. I will also have same follow up treatment as long as the results from op are as expected fingers crossed. Hope your recovering well it must be good to get started on your treatment x