Found lump, doctor referred me to breast clinic

Hi,
a newbie here, I did try to post before, I’m not sure if my post has to be moderated, maybe, and I’m double posting.
Anyway, I found a lump on Thursday, I was getting out of the bath, and felt a pulling pain in my left boob. When I felt it I felt a lump and hardening. Naturally I went into a blind panic, but fortunately got an appointment the next day for my doctors surgery (can’t praise them enough).

The doctor seemed pretty thorough and found the area I was concerned about. She said straight away she’d refer me. It was the way she said it though “It may NOT be breast cancer”. Now I know they can’t give false hope, but I was thinking has she noticed something else?
So now I’m just waiting for the referral, hoping it will be sooner rather than later, because every day is dragging, and I’m reading far too much on google.
Fortunately the breast cancer stories I know personally have happy outcomes, both my mother in law and my husband’s cousin have come out the other side, and there is no history of it in my own family. But then the doctor said it isn’t necessarily hereditary.
I’m very emotional at the moment, but I’m 34 in January and have a gorgeous husband and 3 wonderful boys, the oldest being only 10. If it is breast cancer, then what are they going to have to go through over the next few months?
But mostly, at the moment, it’s the waiting, the going through worst case scenarios.

Thank you for reading. I feel like a fraud as I haven’t even had a mammogram yet, or ultrasound, I just have lumps and thickness, and of course, the more I feel my boob now, the more lumps I seem to feel.

Miranda

I’ve noticed also that my boob with the lump has shrunk. Did anyone notice their boob shrink as a sign, or could it be something completely harmless. It’s always been a bit smaller, like a cup size smaller than the other boob, but noe it’s 2 or 3 cup sizes smaller.
And it’s tingling