Friends for mutual support wanted

Hello all. I was diagnoised on 22nd Oct after being referred the week earlier from my doctor after going with suspious lump. I am 47 but Mum had it 17 years ago so awareness month made me think about it and check. They did needle biopsy and mamagram and told me later that afternoon. Had a biopsy during half term (I am a teacher) and had it confirmed it was invacive lobular stage 2. Last Friday I had a sentinal lobe biopsy which I am now waiting for the results from. I have been off work since that operation and keeping my self busy on line shopping to get everything organised for Christmas as I am due to go for a mastectomy and reconstruction on 10th Dec but find waiting for the test results-the hardest part. Mum, family and friends have all been really supportive but wanted to make contact with ladies of my age who feel the same for mutal support even though Mum has gone through it I find it hard to talk to her about it sometimes as I am know she is so worried about me. Kind Regards Heth.

Hello Heth
Welcome to the ‘club’ that no one really wants to join - but in the eventuality that bestows itself upon us, you probably couldn’t have joined a nicer group of people that post here:)
I was diagnosed on the 26th Oct with 2cm invasive ductal carcinoma grade 3, had 2 lumpectomy’s (1 extra because BS did not get safety margin 1st time) + 4 node removal (all clear), am due to commence Radiotherapy around Xmas and will have Tamoxifen for 5 years. I am 44.
So sorry that you are ‘following’ in Mum’s footsteps so to speak - you will gain an lot of support posting here and it doesn’t appear to matter what time of the day or night there is always someone about to offer a kind word when you may be at your lowest.
Sending you a big hug Leigh x

Hi Heth,

Welcome to the Breast Cancer Care discussion forums. You’ve come to the right place for support, the users of this site have a wealth of knowledge between them and are only too happy to share it.