Grade 3 BC which has left the breast

Hi -

I’m new to this - I have been looking for information online, but I think there is nothing better then the voice of experience.

My mum has grade 3 invasive ductile carcinoma - her cancer isn’t responsive to any of the three treatments like Herceptin. when they removed the cancer they found four nodes were cancerous and so they removed those.

They are going to start her on chemotherapy and radiotherapy - I am not sure what to think or make of this - I know chemotherapy and radiotherapy is going to be a rough road for her, but most of all I want to know that she is going to be OK and that though it feels dramatic to say ‘isn’t going to be beaten by this’. So far it feels all we have had is bad news - does anyone have a feeling as to how treatable this is - how effective is chemotherapy?

I understand everyone’s cancer is different, but I just feel it’s better to know what your facing to help you deal with what may come.

Any thoughts, advice, comments would really help,
Best,
J

Hi Jennyanne,
Welcome to the Breast Cancer Care discussion forums where I am sure you will get lots of support and information to help you and your mum. While you are waiting for replies I have put for you below links to 3 of BCC’s publications which you and your mum might find useful to read. Perhaps your mum would also like to join in the forum discussions, there is good support here which will help her through treatment and beyond.

Treating BC
breastcancercare.org.uk/server/show/nav.718/changeTemplate/PublicationDisplay/publicationId/88

Chemotherapy for BC
breastcancercare.org.uk/server/show/nav.718/changeTemplate/PublicationDisplay/publicationId/109

Radiotherapy:
breastcancercare.org.uk/server/show/nav.718/changeTemplate/PublicationDisplay/publicationId/137

I hope some or all of this is helpful. Kind regards,
Jo, Facilitator

hi Jennyanne

i didnt just want to read and run.