Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HER2 positive and chemotherapy

14 REPLIES 14
Guest user
Not applicable

Re: HER2 positive and chemotherapy

Hi all of you ladies on chemo and herceptin ,I have to make a decision next Friday wether or not to have it , because I have a lot of other health issues makes it an even bigger decision to make I had mx and full clearance on march 6 and I have a large hemetoma and bruising which can't be reopened to clear it .i really need to talk about it all with people who understand .im new to all this ,I've tried to post this before but for some reason it hasn't worked I must be doing something wrong,
all the best to you all I look forward to hearing from you ,thanks for listening
jose x
Mazzalou

Hi there MAC123 and I'm yet another HER2+. Fancy being diagnosed on my birthday of March 7th - I found my 'lump' on March 11th 2011 with my diagnosis confirmed a couple of weeks later. I had my mx almost exactly 2 years ago now with no node involvement. I then had 6 chemos (3 FEC and 3 docetaxel) then 15 rads and 18 herceptins spread over a year - in other words the 'Full Monty'. If you are going to have herceptin ask your ONC to have your veins assessed as I would recommend having a portacath as my veins packed up and playing 'hunt-the-vein' everytime you have to have a blood test, chemo or herceptin is no fun. A port makes life soooo much easier and you won't feel a thing if you have to have one inserted. Losing my hair wasn't much fun, but it does grow back and on the plus side at least you won't have to worry about shaving your legs for a while! We had to cancel both our holidays that were booked for that summer, but our holiday insurance paid up ok. Quite personally, once I started on chemo I wouldn't have wanted to be abroad anyway, especially for the weeks when your immune system is down and always wanted to be able to get to my hospital at a moments notice.