Have fibroadenoma, gpoing for needle biopsy..please help

Hi!

I am new to this site. 2 weeks ago I found a lump in my right breast. Oddly enough, I was going for my annual gyno appointment the very next day. The dr. gave me the breast exam and did not find anything until I pointed the lump out. She sent me for a sonogram where they are saying that its a fibroadenoma. It’s about 1cm in size. I am going for a needle biopsy. I am scared of needles. Can anyone tell me what to expect?
Thanks
DOnna

Hi Donna
(please excuse spelling but no spell check on here and I’m rubbish at it)

Like you I don’t like needles and stuff (and I’m a nurse so should be ok with them)

I had my biopsy on 1st of this month, didnt realise they would do it then and there, gone for mamagram, and ultrasound and they did the biopsy then, prob a bit easier as didnt have time to think about it.

May differ slightly how they do it in different centres and how painless could be down to the person doing it.

I had mine under ultrasound (like when they do scans of babies and stuff)they put some local anesthetic which I thought would hurt like heck but was only like a little pin prick, for the biopsy she then did a small cut which I didnt realise she’d done till she told me, the biopsy needle I couldnt really feel and when she took the biopsy felt like a dull tug.
I did also have a needle aspiration of another small bit that I must say hurt like heck, for that I wiggled my toes like mad crunched my teeth and thought happy thoughts, distraction thereapy does work.

Overall not as bad as I imagined and it only took about max 5-10 mins I guess, the small plaster and sterri strips that they put over the biopsy site, did irritate like heck, and as it healed where they did the cut itched (a good sign).
The bruising after was quite painfull as it came through and lasted for a good week and breast was rather tender. I’d say that was the worse part of the whole procedure.