Help! Can you get a job after( or with) BC?

Hi everyone
I’m about to be made redundant, and just went for a job interview that I am well qualified to do (and experienced). I look after nuns with dementia, and this new job was for an activities organiser in a rest home. I have a first class music degree, care training and experience, and have organised activities at current job. Am pretty sure am not gonna get job. I’m 56 and had BC diagnosed 2 yrs ago. Have been back at my current job for over a year with no problems, but am beginning to wonder if anyone will give me a job (however menial!)

Anyone else have problems seeking work?

Sorry to hear about your dilemma Moley. I would suggest that you just mention at the next interview that you had BC, but are now fine. I did the same some years back, just mentioned it at the end of the interview and said that I was fine, but just had to be a bit careful with lifting etc. because of lymphoedema risk. They were fine and I got the job. If you think you are well enough and fit enough to do the job, there should be no reason why you should not get this job. Good luck.

Birgit

You’re covered under the Disability Discrimination Act so (technically!) an employer can’t discriminate against you because you’ve had breast cancer.

BCC have launched their EMPLOY charter which might be of interest to you or google ‘pointofdiagnosis’ which will give you quite a bit of info.

You only disclose your medical history on the Occupational health forms given to you, usually after successful interview. It will not affect whether you get the job or not. I applied for a post whilst on sick leave last year (at the end of my treatment), got the job, went back to my my original post and handed in my notice. I have been in my new post for 3 months and have no regrets. Good luck.