Help and Advice

Hi. This is my first time on this site and i don’t really know how to say what i want but i’ll try my best and sorry for the essay. My name’s Julie and i was diagnosed with grade two breast cancer on tuesday. At first, when my o/h found the lump, we thought it was just going to be a cyst. When the doctor confirmed that i have breast cancer, we both went into shock. I told my 13 year old daughter, but i think that she just thinks i’m going to have an operation and everything will be fine. My partner though is thinking the worst. His mother died of breast cancer when he was ten and he’s saying that he can’t and won’t cope. He’s seen what it did to his mother and he doesn’t want to go down the same road with me. I have to go and see the doctor and the plastic surgeon shortly to tell them what decision i’ve made in respects of my treatment. My partner has said that he’ll go to the doctor’s with me this afternoon, but he’s going to leave me as he doesn’t want to watch me deteriorate. I’ve pleaded and begged him that his fears are unfounded and that i’m not going to die or get really ill, but he won’t listen and tells me it’s over. I don’t know what to do. I feel like i’ve lost the only person i could really rely and lean on. I don’t know where to go from here and feel completely lost and empty. Any suggestions or advice? I could really do with some help right now. Thanks

Oh Julie,I have to reply just to give you a hug!
Breast cancer does not have to be a death sentence,you need to get someone to talk to your husband as he is just terrified of losing you in the same way as he lost his Mum.Things have changed a lot since then and every cancer is different.
With grade 2 you have a very good chance of still being around in many years time.There are no guarantees but then there are never any guarantees with life.
I can only begin to comprehend how awful you feel right now.
Please call the helpline here for someone to chat to.