Her2 Positive

This is my first time on the forum and not sure if I am posting in the right place, on 23rd April diagnosed Her2 Positive after my tiny tumour was removed, lymph nodes were clear, have an appointment with Oncologist 15th May. My surgeon has suggested Chemotherapy, Herceptin, Radiotherapy and Hormone Therapy. I am so shocked this has all come out of the blue from a routine mammogram and I have always been very healthy, I am 58 have a very supportive husband, family and friends but so so frightened, how soon will I be starting treatment ? Can I put treatment off for a few months ? I know these are the questions I need to ask the the Oncologist but any feed back would be appreciated I feel like I am in limbo and of course not sleeping, Carol

Hi Cassa
Welcome to the BCC forums where you will soon have support and shared experiences to help you through this difficult time

In addition, our helpliners are on hand with further practical and emotional support on 0808 800 6000 and lines are open weekdays 9-5 and Saturday 10-2 so please feel free to call to talk things through

Here’s a link to more support and Information around being diagnosed and starting treatments which may help, including BCC’s ‘Someone like me’ service where you can speak to someone via telephone or email who has been in a similar situation to you to gain support and understand of what you are going through:

breastcancercare.org.uk/treatment

Take care
Lucy BCC