Hi, I'm a newbie. Had first FEC yesterday

Hi everyone, I was dx with Stage 1 Grade 2 er+ node negative bc in the left breast on January 20th aged 39. This was just 6 days before I was due to have preventative bilateral mx at St Thomas’s London, due to my BRCA2+ genetic status which I found out about in March 2010.

The bc was picked up on a routine MRI scan which was part of the work-up to my “preventative” surgery. I had a 4cm DCIS with 8mm invasive bc with signs of lymphovascular invasion (apparently limited to breast but that term made my toes curl up). On January 26th I had my bilateral mx with DIEP/tummy fat reconstruction as planned, and they did sentinel node biopsy at the same time.

As the nodes came back clear, I was steered towards having ovary removal/suppression and Tamoxifen only but I made it very clear I wanted to do everything and that meant having chemo. The onc supported my decision and those extra few percent are worth fighting for! Furthermore, my mum died of brain mets while on Tamoxifen so I don’t have any faith that it will be successful for me as maybe our family have a specific type of ca

I had my first FEC with the cold cap yesterday and so far so good! The cold cap is hard to bear for 15 minutes then you get used to it. I have been a bit tired but have eaten normally with a little faint nausea but all better than I thought. I found the thread on here list and tips for chemo very very useful, thank you ladies! Vanessa

Glad it’s going well for you so far. I also found FEC pretty tolerable - I was lucky not to suffer with nausea - and had excellent results with the cold cap.

finty xx

The nausea has completely disappeared after I took my morning medication and I have felt normal all day. I did notice my cheeks look slightly flushed but I have’t had any proper hot flushes. Any idea how long it will be before the menopausal symptoms kick in?