How do I get back to normal?

Hi Everyone,

Firstly I am sorry for the length of this post, I have tried to keep it as short as possible. My breast cancer  journey began in late September, it came as a complete and utter shock, I didnt have any classic symptoms, only a sore nipple I had been putting cream on for 6 months. I am 31 years old and stupidly thought ‘I was too young’!

After biopsy after biopsy, which we all know, all the tests showed pre cancerous cells, which had not spread as far as the lymph nodes, although it was widespread within the breast so I had to have a mx and chose to have a LD flap with an expander reconstruction. Having spent 7 days in hospital I was discharged, it was then that my consultant broke the news that they had found a small invasive tumour and I required further treatment. The following day I saw my onc, the day after that we were in a fertility clinic (my husband and I have only been married a year and were just getting round to babies when this all happened).

Two weeks after the mx I was on a pretty massive hormone treatment and underwent egg harvesting 2 weeks after. I suffered from ovarian hypersensative syndrome, which meant I went into over drive, produced a huge number of eggs and ended up quite ill. 3 weeks after the egg harvesting I began 12 weeks of weekly paclitaxel and 3 weekly heceptin for a year. After my first cycle of taxol I was admitted to hospital for a week with an infection on the mx. I had a few weeks break and then started again, other than complete hair loss I have suffered nearly every side effect! This week having seen my onc he has decided to stop the taxol at 8 weeks as the side effects have got so bad.