I will be having my right breast removed and then a reconstruction straight after and amreallyscared

<Empty imported post>

Hi Sahil

I am in the same position as you I think, except left breast. I am going in for MX on Tuesday with immediate reconstruction and I too am scared.  We all are… I have been told I will need chemo and maybe hormone treatment too as mine is ER+, thats all I know about mine, except I have two lumps… I am also having a lymph node clearance - are you having that too.  I believe this is the worst bit and causes the most problems.  I am trying to stay positive, but am very apprehensive as I have had no dealings with hospitals, surgery or anything else like that in my 56 years. I will however be very glad to get rid of the cancerous breast but of course I am worried about recovery time, pain etc.  I am not good at taking things easy I am so used to just doing my own thing.  The ladies on here are very supportive so I am sure you will get more replies soon.  I will keep posting with how my Op and recovery goes in the hope of helping others going through the same. Take Care val

What type of reconstruction are you having? I am going in next Tuesday for mine. LD flap reconstruction.
x

Yes that makes sense and if I could have an implant I may well have just gone for that option. But I might have radiotherapy so can’t have an implant yet apart from putting one under the new muscle as it might have some protection from the radiotherapy.
You are right that we all have decisions to make and it’s a very personal thing (and difficult).
My best wishes for your surgery too x

It appears to be very different depending where you live I had masectomy not allowed reconstruction yet due to have chemo then radio been told got to wait till finished all treatment!!

Did they tell you why you have to wait? I would rather wait if there is a good reason why I should.