Is it IBC?

Hello!
I am writing this since my mom who is 60y old was diagnosed with breast cancer 1 month ago. Doctors found 1 mass 13mm in highest measure on ultrasound, mamograph didnt find anything and her surgery was scheduled for today.
Now, i would even consider this type of cancer, but in my country biopsy is not done before but during surgery, so today, she had a mastectomy, her lymph nodes weren’t touched i saw her scar which is only on below breast), but, after, she was given antibiotics 'cause, what doctor said, mastitis was found during surgery (which i found on internet means inflammation of mammary nodes).
Results from surgical biopsy will be in 10-12 days, and since I have no knowledge about breast cancer, can you tell me, does this inflammation means that is certainly IBC, and if it is, are there any bad consequences of doing mastectomy before chemo for IBC?
Thank you very much!

Hi angel

Welcome to the discussion forums, I am sure you will find them a great source of support.

Whilst you’re waiting for others to respond, I thought you might find it helpful to read our factsheet on IBC. Here’s the link:

www2.breastcancercare.org.uk/publications/diagnosed-breast-cancer/inflammatory-breast-cancer-bcc23

Kind regards.

Louise, Facilitator

Hi Angel, so sorry to read about your Mum you must be very worried, mastitis is often confused with IBC so until results come back and say otherwise try to be strong for your mum, idealy Mx should not be done first if it is IBC but the tumor size is not that large, mine was reduced to 13mm after chemo, so I think all should be ok. Is your Mum having ant firther treatment like chemo ,radiotherapy etc…Let us know how you get on .
Jean

Thank you for your answer.

After the biopsy results doctors will decide on further treatment, chemo, radiation etc. I was just scared when I heard that mastitis was mentioned and the possiblity that the wrong course of action was taken, with the surgery being first.