Is my sister more at risk?

I was dx last year age 44 with BC. Our Mum’s mum died from BC in her early sixties (mum from leukaemia in her late forties). Does this put my sister at increased risk of BC? I’m not sure how many family members/ages create an increased risk…

Bump

Hi Ali,
Sorry to hear of your diagnosis of breast cancer. Hope you are doing okay.
Obviously I am not an expert, but I have a brca1 mutation and no something about the risk matrices that are used. BCC produce a booklet (if anyone reading from BCC, can you put link on?).
Your mum’s diagnosis might be classed as ‘sporadic’ breast cancer as opposed to being as a result of an inherited mutation. These are rare and the blurb would state that as breast cancer is a ‘common’ cancer (1 in 8 women) it would not be too out of the ordinary to have first degree relative affected. Also, inherited mutations are associated with younger onset of breast cancer.
You rightly point out that your diagnosis of breast cancer would be taken into account in terms of assessing your sister’s risk. You don’t say how old she is, but she might be eligible for earlier screening.
If you are concerned about the possibility of having an inherited breast cancer, you or she can ask your GP for a referral to a Genetics Clinic. They will ask for a family history and assess risk- at the highest threshold, this would result in the offer of testing, but at the lower end, access to screening. In terms of assessing family history, they look at th incidence of breast and ovarian cancer in the family.
In addition, to the BCC Booklet, Breakthrough Breast Cancer produce a very thorough publication. If you are really interested, I can find link, but won’t be able to find it for a few days-?? This includes an outline of the way risk is determined.
Hope this helps.
Rattles x

Dear Ali_H

I have attached a link to our booklet on “Breast Cancer in Families” as mentioned by Rattles