Just diagnosed

im not good at things like this so apologies in advance.  I was diagnosed on Friday with grade 3 invasive ductal breast cancer.  I don’t have the hormone receptors so hormone treatment is out.  I’m booked in for a mastectomy on the 4th July where they will also do a sentinel node biopsy to see if it has spread and then I will find out what stage it is at.  I will start chemo 4-5 weeks after surgery.  I have to admit I’m bricking it right now.  Feeling pretty thankful to have found this forum,  just reading through has helped X 

Big hugs.
I was in your place 3 weeks ago, now things seem a bit better - long road ahead, but just look at it like this: at least it got caught and is being treated, so *you won’t win, big C* :slight_smile:

Thank you, it’s a bit of a scary journey into the unknown, it’s great to have others that are on the same journey to help shed some of the fear, x

Hi, I haven’t visited the forum for a while but popped on today and have seen this post.  

I was diagnosed in December last year, had my surgery just before Christmas and had my last chemo 5 weeks ago.  Where you are now is the worst time, waiting for something to start happening, when you actually get going it really does become easier and it feels like you are actually taking control a bit.

I was lucky to only need a Lumpectomy and SNB and that was fine, a bit sore but I was out of hospital on the same day and doing a bit of last minute christmas shopping the day after - not carrying any bags though.  I understand a mastectomy is much bigger but ladies I have spoken to since have said that it wasn’t as bad as they were expecting.