Just found out I've got B C

Hi, I’m new to all this, just found out.
I’ve to go back on Monday to get date for my surgery and blood test result.
Will find out after surgery if I need Chemo but I will definitely need radiotherapy.
Still in shock to be honest, never expected this.

Hi Kalo

Welcome to the forums. 

I’m sorry to hear of your diagnosis, the first few weeks are always difficult when coming to terms with your diagnosis and treatment.

As well as the support you will receive on the forums you might find it helpful to order the BCC resources pack. It has been specifically designed for those newly diagnosed and contains information to help you understand your diagnosis, test results and the various treatments available. If you would like to order a copy just follow the link bellow:-

www2.breastcancercare.org.uk/publications/diagnosed-breast-cancer/resource-pack-primary-early-breast-cancer-bcc145

You may also like to talk things through with one of the helpline staff, they are there to offer emotional support as well as provide information. The free phone number is 0808 800 6000 and lines are open 9-5 Monday to Friday and 10-2 Saturday.

Best wishes

June, moderator

Hi Kalo,

I’m so sorry to hear of your recent diagnosis. We all feel that initial shock, but when we get our treatment plan we begin to feel calmer and knuckle down to what’s necessary for us. Here is a link to a booklet that you can download from this website:

www2.breastcancercare.org.uk/sites/default/files/bcc44_breast_cancer_and_you_web_2013.pdf

I hope you find it helpful in the coming weeks/months. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that you don’t need chemo, but if you do, you will find the Monthly Chemotherapy Threads helpful:

forum.breastcancercare.org.uk/t5/Chemotherapy-monthly-threads/bd-p/Chemotherapy_monthy_threads

Best wishes

poemsgalore xx