Lesbian single parent going through BC treatment alone

Hi there,

I have never used a forum before so hope I do it right.  I am a 45 year old single gay parent going through breast cancer treatment alone and am really struggling.  Last year my ex partner was diagnosed with ovarian cancer so I moved her in to stay with me and my 11 yr old son that way it was easier for me to sort out work, school run and take her to hospital for chemo etc we always remained close friends.  She moved back home after a difficult year in Jan but sadly, this march the cancer had metastasised and gone to her brain:-(. I quickly moved her back into my  home again with a view to look after her.  I discovered a lump in my breast in July, I wasn’t overly worried but went to the Gp who referred me to the breast screening clinic.  I went with my mum and was convinced I would be told I had a cyst. Unfortunately not, It was a grade 2 hormone sensitive tumour, I had a lumpectomy and am currently having radiotherapy. Given my cancer was left side breast,  I am doing the breath hold radiotherapy which initially I wasn’t prepared for has anyone else done this? It’s painless but looks like something out of a horror movie.

I am very tired and have never felt so lonely in my life.  My parents both work so my days are filled with getting my son ready for school, having treatment, resting then doing all the normal household chores.  It sounds like I’m just moaning and your right I am but would be good to speak with others in a simiular situation.  My best friend, three weeks after my diagnosis was also diagnosed with bowel cancer.  I feel like cancer has taken over everything in my life.

Thank you so much for taking the time to read my first ever post.