Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Losing my ability to do my job

31 REPLIES 31
Guest user
Not applicable

Re: Losing my ability to do my job

Hi I have read all the comments above and am due to start hormone treatment shortly follwing a mx,snb and tissue expander reconstruction four weeks ago - don't shoot me down but I am a Police Officer and was wondering whether I should wait a few weeks before returning to see how the hormone treatment affects me as my role is deemed 'front line' - I have been signed off by my GP until lst June but still have appointments at the hospital with the oncologist and surgeon. Some days I feel that I am fit to be at work (the pain from the surgery is bearable with pain killers) and other days I am knocked out by the tiredness and retreat to bed whilst the four children are at school - the bottom line is that on the days I feel fine I feel guilty at not being at work and on the days I feel xxxx I think I am never going to be able to do my job again which in turn is making me anxious as I am a single parent and need to work to support my children. What do I do?
trudy2010

Hi,
I am a nurse and I returned to work In December, on a phased return to which I dictated my hours, I was very lucky there. From April 5th Ive been up to my usual hours, and 12 hour shifts, and over those 4 months I felt my energy improve and now I'm "up to speed" with the fast pace of the ward. I don't think I would have coped so well on a shorter phased return, I made sure I wasnt doing too much too soon.

Bulldogbyrne, You've had a lot more going on health wise than myself, 4 ops is no small issue (I had 2 ops) plus lung ca; Be kind to yourself a bit, its still early days. I was definitely 'slow' at work, my legs were weak and i had to sit a lot, and it took about 3 months till i could even get my head round being in charge again, and Ive been nursing for 20 years!!