Masectomy

Hi everybody I feel so useless you are all so positive and I dont feel I can say the right things to support you, Although I was diagnosed back in June Im still learning all the abbreviations and terminology and I find myself back again for some reassurance. Got results from my second round of surgery today had axillary clearance and only one node infected so happy that it has not spread further,the not so good news going to have to go back for masectomy after all because cancer spots found in he second lot of margins taken.  So Im feeling relieved and upset at the same time. I so hate this roller coaster so want to feel myself again. Have decided to wait for reconsruction but unsure if thats the right decision although the consultant says I can change my mind. Any advice thoughts on this.

Hi anx56

I had MX with immediate reconstruction 6 weeks ago and I really do feel that that was the right decision for me. I had the LD flap recon… so over 11 hours in theatre in total (that included ANC too). I woke up with a breast that, although very swollen, still looked like ‘me’. 6 weeks down the line and the scars are all healing nicely, the swelling has gone and mobility is pretty good. The great thing about the LD recon for me was that my new breast really does feel like mine. It’s warm and still has all it’s nerve endings so when I touch it, I can feel it like it’s a real breast. It’s also nice and soft and natural looking.

My thinking when I went for immediate recon was that I wanted to wake up with a breast, and I also wanted as few procedures as possible. It might be a longer op, but you’re asleep so that bit makes no difference really.

At the end of the day, it all boils down to your own feelings about it and you must make a decision that feels right for you. Just thought I’d share my feelings and thoughts that applied to me. x

Hi anx56
Here’s a BCC glossary of terms which may help :

breastcancercare.org.uk/breast-cancer-information/glossary