cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mastectomy, SNB and recon today

14 REPLIES 14
Zuleika

Re: Mastectomy, SNB and recon today

Horseslave, I was just like you post op. So you are normal and you'll come through. I'm home after my recon op. Painful but relieved.
I'm a nurse and often call my colleague weirdos, so you made me laugh 😄
Horseslave

Thanks, perhaps I'm not going mad after all. District nurses been to remove last drain, which wasn't nice and I howled again but they were very sympathetic . They said I was expecting too much of myself at such an early stage and to go easy. The whole thing looks a mess to me, I can't understand how nurses and doctors can say, that's lovely and oooo over wounds. Weirdos. I see breast care nurse Thursday to check on progress, results in two weeks, then plastic surgeon at end of month.
jillybee

A good cry....that helps. Be kind to yourself.You have been through a lot.Not always onwards and upwards.Just go with the flow.Gentle hugs.
Love the comment about some of the patients.I found when going through my surgeries,became less tolerant of some people whinging.I was a nurse,and some days had "lolly pop-stick" days.Just think about popping a lolly pop stick in your mouth, sideways.You then have a permanent smile,when working.take care
lucy12

I'm not surprised you are irritable and emotional - your body and mind have been through a HUGE ordeal.

As Jane has said, a good cry can sometimes help - I feel like I could have filled an ocean since my diagnosis last year and even now have the odd wobbly day. Sometimes a good howl really can give you a physical as well as an emotional release.

Hopefully now you are home, you will be able to rest a bit better and won't have the annoyances of hospital wards. Be kind to yourself and rest when your body tells you to, don't try to fight it.

Lu x

lazy_jane