October Surgery?

I have a lumpectomy on 20th October.

I have to report at 7,30am and could be on way home by 1pm.  

I am a midwife, so have prepared many for Caesareans, but now it is me - I haven’t a clue…

I *think* I have some sort of pre op the day before to inject a radio active dye, grateful for more info - and if others in same postion as me.

What is recovery generally like?  I am a bit of a wuss…

A

xx

Hi there, sorry to hear you have to have op on 20/10 . I’m fairly new to this site and have found it great for support and advice. I have had 2 lumpectomys recently…first one i had to be in at 7.30am & was ready to go home by 2.30pm .I only needed 2nd op to get a better margin & then check sentinel node . They injected a little bit of radioactive dye into my boob a few hours before my op. However my 2nd op was much later in the day than the first one so im guessing thats why you are having it put in the day before. Having the tracer dye in was painless and only took a minute. As for recovery we are all different …after op my boob went through the colours of the rainbow (bruising) and had some pain for a few days but if you take painkillers when you need them hopefully you will get through it ok but take things easy. You are definitely not a wuss…you have inner strength because of the wonderful job you do. Everyone on here wishes we weren’t in this ‘club’ but we are all in it together and rooting for each other. Please let us know how you get on, will be thinking of you. H xx