One year and 4 months post surgery

I have just registered into the site and I am looking at the various subjects that are being discussed within the forums. I am also a registered nurse diagnosed with stage 3 triple neg. breast cancer in November 2007. I have often thought that it doesn’t help to be a nurse at all, during surgery/treatment and now. But I believe a little knowledge is not a dangerous thing, I’m as frightened as anybody else is, I’m waiting for my first mammogram follow up result and I’m so glad to find that all I have been reading on this wwebsite tells me for sure that I’m the same as anyone else and I am so grateful for all the support I feel is coming my way from other sufferers of cancer, thank you so much everybody for contributing to the forums, I feel so much better, it’s incredible.

Hi all triple negatives

In May 2006 I was diagnosed as Triple Negative. Now almost 3 years post surgery. Feel wonderful at the moment after undergoing breast reconstruction in November 2008. Keep up the thread.

Anniemay

I too am a nurse and was diagnosed with triple negative breast cancer six years ago and am currently NED. I think being a nurse has made it harder at times - I just want to bury my head in the sand sometimes like everybody else.Good luck with your mammogram results

best wishes

Anne

PS - Please explain the p1a2t3r4 thing - have been looking at it for ages and can’t figure it out!

Hi girls, like you I am also an ex nurse, diagnosed in 2006, triple negative. Had surgery , chemo and rads. I agree our knowledge can make things harder for us, specially as we have no safety blanket to fall back on:-(
The fear is always in the back ground, as are the what ifs, now I try to make the most of life, and live it to the full

AnnieE, try taking the numbers away from the p1a2t3r4 thing :slight_smile: I think I spent too much time on the pc <bg></bg>