crispy

Re: Pain during radiotherapy

Hi Folks

I've bumped up the thread done . the last few posts talk about physio

Crispy

Guest user
Not applicable

I too have a stiff neck - 4 treatments so far. I am putting it down to the position I am in on the bed , and not moving. As I am in the IMPORT trial it takes them ages to set me up - half dose to all of my boob and full dose just to the tumour area! They always seem to have to rotate my trunk, while my head stays in one place! As I am a physio by trade I am not worried by the neck ache!!

lisaf

Thank for the comments as Ive had a stiff next, headache for days, only 4 left to go. A nurse did say to me its probably just stiffness
xx

Guest user
Not applicable

Hi Crispy,
I haven't had any physio advice. Should I ask for some at my GP surgery, or at the hospital? I only have 3 more rads to do.

It's been better for a few days, then back again today. I get a sort of thumping ache in my neck if I move my head too quickly to one side. It worries me.I haven't actually mentioned it to the radiographers, only that my neck felt stiff one day. You don't like to be moaning about every ache and pain to them.I saw a Dr from the Onc team yesterday, for a quick review, but forgot to mention it to her.

Any advice welcome! I'll maybe try the pillow in bed.

Ann x

crispy

Hi Ann

How much physio advice have you had?

The muscles on the inside get as cooked as the skin so you do need to be careful that you are not asking your shoulder to lift too much. some of the muscles from the shoulder insert into the neck.

I usually lay on my unaffected side with my arm draped over me. the physio suggested that i slept on the unaffected side with the affected arm on a pillow to prevent the neck ache (worked for me)

C

FizBix

it may be your body's way of asking for a rest