Refused reconstruction!

Hello, i am new to this but would love to hear from anyone else who, like me has been for their 2nd appointment with oncologist to be told that it has been decided by the hospital that i am not allowed to have reconstruction. There is a chance if i can ask/persuade my g.p. to refer me for reconstruction. Is this a sign of the times? Ive been told it is not about me but no-one else has been refused, obviously i had a pretty bad day yesterday when the decision sunk in. I had been promised recon at any time i wished after my ops last year,whether it be 2 years or 20. Thankyou for reading this, i would appreciate any comments.
(P.S. I realise that funding is an issue. If i had been told it was not likely that recon was available it would not have been so hard to bear i guess)

Hello wonderhen10

Welcome to the forums, you’ve come to the right place for support as the users of this site have a wealth of experience and knowledge between them.

Whilst waiting for replies you may find it useful to contact our free helpline on 0808 800 6000, opening hours are Monday to Friday 9.00 – 5.00 and Saturday 9.00 – 2.00.

Best wishes
June, moderator

I don’t know what surgery you had - but my understanding is that guidlines are that you will automatically be offered a re construction either immediate or delayed if you are having or have had a masectomy. For a WLE it is different and you may not be offered one on NHS anyhow as it considered you still have a breast even though it may not be as it was before. x

This is despicable.
Are there medical/clinical reasons for their refusal?
Why does your GP have any role in this? And why do you have to “persuade” your GP?
My understanding is that all mastectomy patients are entitled to recon at any point. What does your BCN say?

Aside from your GP your first port of call must be PALS. Explain everything to them and get them working as your advocates.